The best year: Hitting the half way point of my UBC adventure

The ending of my last final exam yesterday triggered in me a summer-ready exhilaration. My second year at UBC has truly been an eye-opening ride that filled my days with endless wonder; I sure feel poignantly wistful that it is going to be gone even before autumn comes… It has always been my intention to immortalize my glory in black and white for my personal reflection and vanity, and to inspect the turning point of my growth.

In chronological order, I will recount and relive 100 sweet peosies of my life in second year, starting from September 2014 to April 2015.

  1. Became a member of the behind-the-scene Welcome Team staff at UBC Imagine Day. It’s always bittersweet, half fulfilling, and half forlorn to go from the ones being served to the ones giving back, knowing that there’s no turning back to such a refreshing freshmen’s fresh start.
  2. Spectated at the UBC Debate Society practice rounds and Opening of the House. It really opens up my eyes and exposes me to lots of talented, motivated peers who constantly challenge others and their own beliefs and stimulate their brains for fun, unlike me who prefer to shut off my brain during leisure. Such a humbled experience this was! I befriended Verde, with whom I became close friends and hung out frequently. I also met Tammy, an exchange student hailing from my motherland, who catalyzed my journalistic involvements and went on a camping trip with me later on.
  3. Conducted an interview for the first time. I was always on the receiving end of all the questionings. It was quite unnerving for me to take on the authority and evaluate others with a perceptive mind. Okay, so I only interviewed one girl who’s in the same year as me, and my mind was too flustered to be perceptive. Nonetheless, I accepted her to our team and attended the SLC closing ceremony with her.
  4. Joined Tandem. It was one of my biggest regrets in first year that I missed the application deadline. I offered English and learned Cantonese. I became friends with my partner, a first-year Hong Kong international student whose family has extensive affiliations with UBC, and learned to speak Cantonese that’s exclusively intelligible to my mentor. Oh, and I stormed the wall with her even after our tandem partnership dismantled.
  5. Joined Launch Into Leadership. I was introduced to Edward de Bono’s 6 thinking hats and learned to see leadership as a malleable skill instead of an innate charisma. Another thing that I learned was that, when addressing recipients in a formal business email, one should use first AND last names as a sign of respect. I was accustomed to include first names only, and now I adjusted my habit to include people’s full names. The most helpful strategy that I learned was the SMART goal setting for event planning.
  6. Attended a King’s College London information session and being enlightened regarding its rivalry with University College London.
  7. Underwent training for Really? workshop facilitators. This experience really made me appreciate UBC’s effort in promoting equity and ignited my interest in social justice. Through the 7-hour trainings for 2 consecutive days, I’ve come to realize that everyone is fighting a hard battle, and that just because some issues aren’t being discussed doesn’t mean that they don’t exist. It was quite a tight knitted community of facilitators being open and vulnerable. I really enjoy being surrounded by people who are willing to engage in self-revealing discussions, but I always fear that I wouldn’t be able to come up with equally deep responses. On top of my shyness, the ongoing meetings conflicted with my work schedule, so I didn’t form close personal ties from this involvement, yet I truly deem this a life-changing experience.
  8. Became legally Canadian. It’s wonderful to have my 5 years of youth spent at Canada granted legitimacy — not that I was an illegal migrant, but being a landed immigrant vs. being a Canadian citizen felt different. I can now proudly say that, while I don’t share Canada’s past, I will share her present and future.
  9. Starred Did background performing in a Lenovo smartphone commercial. With the role of partygoer, I was merely a blurry shadow looming in the back of the crowd. The less-than-5-minute scene took more than 7 hours to shoot. I was going nuts and secretly vowed to myself that I will never take on another background performing work. My coworkers were, in varying degrees, involved in the entertainment industry and looking to expand their network; I was holding my family studies textbook, feeling very out of place.
  10. Became a research assistant at a psychology lab; understood that coding is a scale of rating commonly employed in psychology research. I totally embarrassed myself when I report to my supervisor that I had zero knowledge in computer science but wouldn’t mind learning how to code.
  11. Represented my project team at a TEDxTerry Talks booth, granting me access to the event. The lighting and sound effects were superb, and the atmosphere was fantastic. The audience area was pitch dark, and a beam of light shed on the lone speaker, exuding a sense of greatness. Aliya Dossa’s 101 Days, 101 Strangers, 101 Stories etched the most lasting impression on me. The words sounded especially inspirational when the audience were put into the context vs. when they were looking through their iPhone screens.
  12. Attended a 7-8pm interpretation workshop advertised by Tandem. I was immensely grateful that I went — I was seriously considering to stay home and review for my upcoming midterm — for I met an exchange student named Soyoung and became really close friends with her. This workshop taught me that, as an interpreter, one should always abide by code of ethics, including translating the language in a way that reflects the “class” of one’s clients. Most importantly, however, this workshop taught me to say yes to opportunities, because the follow-up stories are far more interesting than the knowledge and facts learned at a one-hour sitting. Soyoung and I hung out regularly and went on a 3-day camping retreat together later on.
  13. Worked as a Registration Official for the Vancouver Municipal Election. The first year that I got to vote, I became more than a voter! It was double blessings for me that I acquired my Canadians citizenship the same year as I reached 19 years of age.
  14. Teddy’s label got worn off on December 12, 2014.
  15. My bestie Sylvie flew back to Vancouver for the winter break.
  16. Used my credit card for the first time.
  17. Went to Exit Canada for the first time. Despite it being our first Exit trial, Sylvie, Pam, Narcy, and I dauntlessly chose the Laboratory Escape, which boasted the highest level of difficulty, due to an unforeseen scheduling conflict.
  18. Started recording my day-to-day life after my diary became dormant for 7.5 months.
  19. Was shocked to learn that Lewis Carroll may have taken a romantic/sexual/platonic liking towards Alice Liddell, on whom the character of Alice is based.
  20. Accepted a Taiwanese university student’s Skype interview to share my cultural observations and experiences in Canada.
  21. Watched Sesame Street for the first time and, to my own surprise, found it somewhat enjoyable.
  22. Went to a bar and ordered liquor for the first time. It was on Christmas Day, December 25, 2014, at Showcase with Sylvia, Will, Chloe, and Uni.
  23. Watched a blu-ray DVD at home with family for the first time. It was Maleficent.
  24. Hung out with Holly, whom I met while volunteering for Canada Day at Canada Place in 2012. It was the third time I saw her. Life is magical. Some friendships are meant to be, even when friends only meet for 3 times during a 2.5-year span.
  25. Learned to play mahjong for the first time on the night of December 31, 2014 at Tiffany’s party.
  26. Finished reading the Divergent trilogy on January 1, 2015.
  27. Visited the Forbidden City exhibition at the Vancouevr Art Gallery with Enya. I had been longing to see with my very eyes the extravagance in which ancient emperors and empresses indulged themselves. It was such a luxury that these historical artifact delivered themselves to me from across the Pacific Ocean.
  28. Started to take 24 Hours from the smiling man who delivered the newspaper at the bus loop every morning.
  29. Heard of an appalling phrase “birth rape” for the first time.
  30. Finally summoned up the courage to walk into the seemingly unwelcoming office of The Ubyssey to sign up for their mailing list. I dragged Verde in with me to reinforce a sense of self-efficacy.
  31. Attended a social event by the Chistian Students Club despite not being religious.
  32. Audited LING 101 Languages of the World with Professor Strang Burton persistently in my second term. I only slacked off starting in late March, when the lecture material was increasingly focusing on priming the students for the final exam. I’m extremely proud of this accomplishment: I did not let my indolence take over and diligently attended this class three times a week. Did I mention that this was my first class for the three weekdays? I learned lots of interesting linguistic and cultural facts that proved to be very useful in real life. For example, I learned that there really isn’t a standard British accent. There’s the Received Pronunciation (RP), aka the Queen’s English, and there’s the Cockney dialect, aka David Beckham‘s English. This knowledge helped me to correctly identify my friend Verde’s dialect. And note that I say “dialect” instead of “accent.” In linguistic terms, dialect means mutually intelligible varieties of a language. When two speakers cannot engage in a conversation due to incomprehension, then they are speaking two separate languages. Hence, Mandarin and Cantonese are two languages. The reason that many people say that Cantonese is a Chinese dialect is because they are referring to it politically, not linguistically. Another thing I learned that proved useful was that Professor Strang introduced to us some hilarious Cockney rhyming slangs such as wife = trouble and strife. A party that I went to actually had an activity (hosted by two exchange students from UCL) that had the participants guess these slangs. I was pretty well-prepared for it.
  33. Finally caught a glimpse of the workings of the Model United Nations after volunteering as a committee page at a MUN Conference at Sheraton. My little cousin is an avid MUNer in Taiwan and talks about it a lot, so, in a way, she was actually the first one who introduced me to MUN.
  34. Got involved with SLC again in a new role (going from Volunteer to Presenter) and a renewed sense of self. Our team was featured as a highlighted project during the lunchtime event as well as at the closing ceremony. Being the booth lover that I am, I had fun touring the booths, gleaning information about other campus organizations, and of course stationing my own booth and engaging with other students.
  35. Became an outreach volunteer at AMS Speakeasy. This was one of the main new year resolutions I had of myself for 2015. I truly relish the wonderful feeling of having my expectations of myself turn into reality.
  36. Saw the roaming coyote (or two different coyotes?) twice on the same day.
  37. Quatchi broke off my keychain after residing on my bag for almost 5 years.
  38. Joined the Skin Cancer Awareness Network (SCAN) and received a tour of the Vancouver General Hospital, including a private studying room exclusive for med school students.
  39. Accepted by the UBC TACS. I was over the moon when I learned of my acceptance. It was truly a privilege being entrusted by others to prepare their tax returns for them.
  40. Met up with an ESP who used to be my supervisor at a VSB newcomer youth orientation program. Life truly is miraculous in bonding fates together!
  41. Finished reading 3096 Days, an autobiography that I had long looking forward to read. Natascha Kampusch is such a force of life that stands strong against the unbearable, and I especially expressed my respect for her on goodreads.
  42. Accompanied my sister in practicing skateboarding for the first time.
  43. Attended a Ubyssey Culture section meeting for the first time. It sure came as a surprise that my Welcome Team buddy, with whom I labourously set up the tables on Imagine Day, was a senior staff writer. Fate is such an expert at creating recurring characters in my life.
  44. Learned of and walked into the Sauder Library for the first time. My lovely friend Kimby is allegedly the mascot of the library.
  45. Attended UBC Hua Dialogue for the first time. The event focused on education and the search for identities. I invited Tammy, who thought of covering a Ubyssey story for this event but yielded the idea to me in the end. At the discussion, I met Rosemary, who was my ice skating classmate back in grades 10-11. I’m perpetually mesmerized yet gradually accustomed to coincidences.
  46. Reunited with my high school English tutor, whom I haven’t met regularly since grade 11. I only briefly met up once with her in grade 12 to pick up a reference letter. As the ever-wondrous fate would have it, my former tutor is now employed by UBC. What’s even more exciting: she’s engaged. Her bright smile and shiny ring said it all.
  47. Participated in Tandem once more. Learned Japanese and offered English. My partner Wataru is a 25-year-old ELI student who has already completed an Economics degree. He has a heart like the sea — he is currently enrolled in a shipping and transport program as an athlete at a Japanese university in order to actualize his childhood dream of becoming a sailor and travelling around the world.
  48. Set foot in the UBC building at Robson Square for the first time; also experienced my first-time business networking with professionals. It was for TACS CPA welcome. Lots of managers from CRA and other accounting firms whose names I can’t remember swarmed the area. I was overwhelmed by the sophistication in their attire and demeanour. It was quite a nerve-wracking occasion. Met Quinn and learned once more that it is a small world after all — my friend Kimby’s friend’s dad is Quinn’s mom’s colleague.
  49. Skyped with the founder of UBC Hua Dialogue. She’s currently on exchange. I especially admire her cando attitude in converting her ideals into action. Her dedication in promoting intercultural understanding and social activism really resonated with me. I had intended to persuade her to accept an interview from The Ubyssey. Although she didn’t consent in the end, we had a really long, meaningful conversation.
  50. Met one of the core UBC Hua Dialogue organizers at an unrelated group interview and became friends with her. All hail Destiny!
  51. Watched my first drama show at UBC. I invited my yoga buddy Jane, who is also an ardent theatre goer, to attend The Bacchae 2.1‘s last show with me in the evening on my 20th birthday. I didn’t enjoy the show that much, but I was definitely cherishing this first experience as my birthday present to myself.
  52. Conducted my first journalistic interview. My interviewee was a Taiwanese visiting student who goes to the same university as my dad did. I carried out the interview in Mandarin as requested by my interviewee. The conversation centred around the sensitive issues of the China-Taiwan relations, about which he had strong options. My job was to listen and analyze, not to judge or criticize. I was looking forward to the challenge of having to translate my own transcription. Alas, I didn’t get to put together an article because the organizers did not deem it appropriate that they accept an interview at this point in time.
  53. Touched Werther’s Original after at least 5 years. My taste buds relished the nostalgic aroma during the BIOL 204 lab midterm.
  54. Learned that a high school friend’s mother is a published romance novelist.
  55. Witnessed a drunk person in action, in real life, for the first time. At a high school mini reunion, my friends and I were singing in a private room in a karaoke bar that prohibited any alcohol or cigarettes (such a health-oriented karaoke bar!) when a teenaged girl clad in a flattering red dress rushed out her room, which was located across from our room, laughing hysterically and whining flirtatiously.
  56. Delivered a presentation at a high school Planning 10 class. Partnered up with one other volunteer and gave a talk on the deadliness of melanoma and the importance of conducting regular self-checks. As my surprise-imbued life would have it, I saw my high school principal at the main office. He relocated from my high school to Tupper. It came as a total surprise nonetheless. Of the 18 secondary schools in Vancouver, and he relocated to Tupper?! That’s a mere 6% chance! (Hope I calculated the probability correctly)
  57. Wrapped dumplings on Chinese New Year’s Eve with Violet, her roommate, her boyfriend, and a friend of hers at their place. On my way busing to her place, I bumped into my high school locker neighbour Sam. She told me that she backpacked across Europe for a month over the summer, and that it constitued one of the best segments of her life. If only I could gather everyone’s stories, I could produce a book thicker than Les Misérables.
  58. Grocery shopped across border for the first time. Bellingham has an aura vastly different from that of Vancouver.
  59. Started using a Sonicare electric toothbrush.
  60. Coerced by a bank teller to add a new plan to my account. I was stunned that the bank teller, at a legit bank, was force-selling me a service plan. I said “no” about ten times. But I had an inkling that she disregarded my protest and added it to my account anyways.
  61. Used Duolingo for the first time. I completed 4 lessons on basic French, and never clicked on the cute green owl once more. I felt a tad bit of guilt every time the owl showed up on my notification badge, and I proceeded to ignore it, and to delete it…
  62. Learned in LING 101 that Marie Antoinette, the iconic French Queen, was a native German speaker born to an Austrian empress. Being admired for her charm and glamour, she imposed great linguistic influence on France. Before her, the French speakers trilled their r’s. To emulate the charming queen’s pronunciation, the French people adjusted their r’s, and the r’s were no longer trilled. This change, however, did not take place in Quebec and hence contributed to the difference between French French and Quebec French. In the end, the French people took her r and beheaded her.
  63. Learned in POLI 260 that Kurt Waldheim, the 4th Secretary-General of the United Nations, was a Nazi officer.
  64. Learned in POLI 260 that Kofi Annan, after his failure as the Head of peacekeeping during the 1994 Rwandan Genocide, was promoted to the position of Secretary-General of the UN in 1997.
  65. Participated in a 1.5-hour group interview for my dream position of Career Peer Coach. Coincidence: my family friend was there, too!
  66. Learned in POLI 260 that the UN initially nominated North Korea, China, Russia, Nigeria, Cuba, and Egypt to join the Human Rights Commission.
  67. Made an origami crane myself for the first time. I folded it using a traditional Japanese mochi wrap.
  68. Went to Verde’s place in celebration of her birthday. Saw Nicole, the girl in my TACS group interview at the party, and Joanna, my ESL classmate whom I hadn’t seen in 4 years… The last time I saw her, I didn’t even have a proper home school for a full-time secondary education. I was once again convinced that destiny had it all laid out.
  69. Was slammed in the face by the scientific evidence which debunked the Mozart Effect by Tara’s lab presentation. I remember all the years in elementary school, during which I was a Mozart music evangelist, spreading the gospel of Mozart music and the power that it possessed in elevating one’s grades… A friend told me that she would follow my advice and start saving her allowances to purchase a Mozart CD.
  70. Bumped into my first-year chemistry lab partner who had already transferred out of UBC last year at the bus loop. He spent the year working as a chef’s assistant at a restaurant in Switzerland.
  71. Finally set foot in the Hillel House. I had been longing to catch a glimpse of the interior of the mysterious building since firs year. I grabbed Soyoung with me to boost my courage to walk over those seemingly exclusive doors. And yes, even after I visited the place, I still consider it to be exclusive. It seems that membership to the house is strictly racial based: you have to be Jewish.
  72. Attended a talk by the award-winning novelist Shauna Singh Baldwin, who shared about her bicultural identity and the way it moulds her language and style.
  73. Was accepted as an International Welcome Leader for Imagine Day 2015.
  74. Dissected a pregnant rat with 8 fetuses in its womb.
  75. Attended a screening event for a documentary about the Sunflower Student Movement in Taiwan with Pam and Ariel.
  76. Divulged the existence of this blog to some close friends.
  77. A friend cheerfully reported to me that Godfrey Gao, the first Asian Louis Vuitton model, had his teeth checked up at her mom’s dental clinic.
  78. Stormed the wall at the clinic for the first time. The rain was dampening, but I could not help but brighten up whilst inspecting the drizzling sky and gazing down from the height. It was a blissful opportunity for me to connect my friends together: Verde whom I met at the Debate Society, Sharon with whom I partnered up at Tandem, Nicole whom I befriended at TACS, and Joyce who is friends with Sharon and my sister.
  79. Was invited to speak at a UBC Student Leadership Conference ongoing initiative titled “The Next Step: Powered by PechaKucha” on behalf of my project team as a Showcase Award Recipient. It was the first time that I presented in a pechakucha format, which entails good pacing. I partnered up with Audrea, and we were the very first to set the presentations into motion. It was an extremely humbled experience for me, being able to speak on par with some truly inspirational speakers, including my partner Audrea whom I’ve always adored and held in a high regard, Eric Zhao who was my group leader at the Undergraduate Research Night almost 1.5 years ago in October 2013, Aidan Scott who serves as the CEO of SpeakBOX and dedicates himself to mental health advocacy, Dr. Curtis Berlinguette who is a UBC chemistry professor, and Shawna Olsten who holds the Global Brand Vice-President position at Native Shoes. The organizing committee was very courteous and thanked us each with a UBC mug, a satin bag containing SLC sponsor DAVIDsTEA‘s tea bags, and a lovely hand-written thank-you note.
  80. Attended The Value of Freedom: Academics VS. Expression panel discussion formally as a Ubyssey journalist for the first time. I instantly recognized one of the panelist, Urooba Jamal, as the co-founder of the UBC alternative student press, The Talon, and writer of a piece which I greatly admired. I quickly seized the opportunity and chatted with her for my article. I also had the privilege of speaking with the newly appointed Equity and Inclusion Vice-President Dr. Sara-Jane Finlay who was on her Day 5 at UBC. Being involved with The Ubyssey really granted me the privilege of asking questions and challenging people’s perspectives in the name of journalism. As shy as I am, I feel empowered being a journalist who gets to pry open the surface and delve deep into the core.
  81. Attended the MURC with Joyce. Our friendship stemmed from the most curious origin: at Koerner in the afternoon immediately before CHEM 121 midterm. She saw me checking the sample answer key on the computer and talked to me. The bonding was spontaneous. The second time I saw her was for a fleeting 5 seconds on campus. This was the third time, and the actual first time, that we made time for each other and went to an event together. The total amount of time that we spent together might not be long, but sometimes it only takes one glance, one spoken word for two friends to know if they are meant to be. We visited the Shutterbug exhibition together afterwards.
  82. Stormed the wall.
  83. Watched forum theatre for the first time; saw a year of work coming into fruition at the CTL final performances.
  84. Embarked on a 3-day journey to Camp Sasamat. It’s the first time in 5 years that I participated in a student group tour. I also keenly realized the way I’m always over-prepared with a luggage full of unused items. Low ropes. Archery. Canoeing. High ropes. Kayaking. Hiking. Playing the rather boring and distasteful Cards Against Humanity and the interesting, educational Anomia (you can get a sense of my somewhat prim personal taste). The incessant party nights filled with alcohol and drinking games. The beautiful, serene Lake Sasamat. The refreshing scent of the dewy leaves, permeating in the cool air. Even though, in engaging in this activity, I was unable to attend the March Welcome this year, I was perfectly content with my choice.
  85. Attended a film screening of the critically acclaimed documentary The Devil Operation as a part of the Social Justice Centre Conference 2015. Had the privilege of interviewing the conference co-chair Eviatar Bach and the director Stephanie Boyd. This event really opened up my eyes about the human rights violations happening in South America by North American mining companies. Boyd is now fundraising for her new documentary screening event that tackles the preservation of natural resources in Peru.
  86. Ordered at Ike’s Cafe for the first time.
  87. Attended UBC Community Building Through Action. Saw that my Really? colleague had risen to prominence with her philosophical, social justice oriented mindset and active involvement in holding workshops.
  88. Accompanied mom to St. Paul’s Hospital for the first time. The hospital was bound to the fate of relocation shortly afterwards.
  89. Met up with my Career Peer Coach interviewer for a debrief session. This was the first time that I received such quality debrief in person.
  90. Attended Journalism 101. I was hoping to learn practical journalistic techniques, and was slightly disappointed to find out that this workshop was essentially a recruitment fair for The Ubyssey.
  91. Watched my first UBC musical Triumph of Love with Narcissa and Evens.
  92. Enjoyed a satisfying meal at Bellagio Cafe adjacent to the beautiful Coal Harbour. Had a delightful evening with my fellow UBC TACS volunteers.
  93. Interviewed Matt Kennedy, of whom I knew from The Bacchae 2.1 and Triumph of Love.
  94. Finally watched Memento. It was played in PSYC 260 and appeared on the final exam.
  95. Accepted into BMM.
  96. Conducted my first Ubyssey Skype interview with Research and International Vice-President John Hepburn regarding the recent partnership between UBC and Chongqing city in China.
  97. Found out that the youngest queen alive today is 24-year-old Jetsun Pema of Bhutan.
  98. Heard Sanmao‘s voice for the first time. Her audio recording sounded pretty modern, in terms of her pronunciation and language used.
  99. Was made staff by The Ubyssey. I was radiating with happiness when my little dream realized. I set the goal of being a staff member since I published my first article a month ago. To celebrate this day, I searched up the reason behind my editor’s unwavering removal of my comma before “and,” and learned that it’s called the Oxford comma.
  100. Completed POLI 260 Introduction to Global Politics with Professor Robert Farkasch. Even before being admitted into UBC, I had already set the intention of taking an introduction politics course by the time I finish my third year, as recommended by my high school mentor. This course taught me exactly what I had been looking to be exposed to. It taught me the importance of asking questions and not be content with answers because they are no correct answers in global politics. There are only perspectives, as we are all seeing the world through tinted glasses and can only get closer to the truth yet never reaching it. It introduced to me the the prevalence of self-interested realism in the global landscape and democratic state actors’ attempt to mitigate conflicts and cultivate peace and stability through liberal institutions. It made me understand that feminism isn’t just one set of uniform ideals, that there are diverse streams of feminism. For instance, difference feminism believes that masculinity and feminity represent different strengths and weaknesses, and postulates that the realist global politics is competitive because of the male-dominated realm of policy-making, suggesting that the nurturing and peace-loving femininity would foster a cooperative global climate. On the other hand, the liberal feminists advocate for the same rights and opportunities available to men being extended to women, and believe that there are no difference in men’s and women’s abilities. Post-modern feminism takes a step further and delves into the root of gender problem as a social construction, as opposed to merely fighting for a bandage solution that simply “add women and stir.” Aside from the feminism enlightenment, this course dissolved my prejudice against Marxism. I have come to realize that Marxism is inherently idealistic, perhaps a picture of what utopia would look like. However, I’m pessimistic about the Marxist ideal because I think I goes against human being’s instinctual response towards incentives. “Power tends to corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely,” wrote John Dalberg-Acton in 1887. How can we hope for the entire ruling class to allow the working class the same power as they do? Power difference is the very essence that distinguishes the elites from the labours. Anyways, I admire the Marxist idealism, just don’t believe it would work. This course really reverse my views about this school of thought, and I now appreciated Madame Sun Yat-sen‘s resolution to embrace Marxism and live with frugality. Last but not least, as recounted in #63, 64 and 66, I have come to be skeptical of the United Nations as the symbol of global peace. With its prominent status as an entity closest to an international police — which there isn’t one due to sovereignty concerns — the UN is yet another pseudo-MNC that is profit-driven, in a sense, with each member state seeking to maximize it interests. What’s more to this self-interested mindset is that the member state representative is weighing out the cost-benefit from his/her point of view, which is usually reflective of the elitist class of his/her nation. Anyways, the UN is definitely a relevant mechanism, but it needs reform to keep up with the mutable global landscape, considering that the permanent Security Council members haven’t changed since WWII, and more… Overall, this course really changed my world view. Dr. Farkasch is such an engaging passionate speaker who cares about his students wholeheartedly. Taking this course was one of the best decisions that I’ve ever made so far.
Leave a Reply

